top of page

The Binder

Every advocate has those pieces of paper laying around. You know what I am talking about. That random receipt that you chicken scratched a quick note down. “don’t forget to do …” The random notebooks with fast notes from meetings, calls, and information dug up. Those little bits of information you found on the internet is sitting, printed and on your “desk.” Even if “desk” is the coffee table, for now.

Now that the new year is approaching, it is time to get organized. I found that since I did so, I am digging up less and less stuff, because I already had it.

Run off to your local “dime store” Grab a binder, tab dividers, a cheap calendar that you can mark important dates down, a binder pencil pouch, and few pens. You are now on your way to getting it together.


Personally, I have a binder for each case. Each binder is sectioned out in a very similar manor. Why? Because if I am used to finding something in a specific section, I will always know if I have it or not. The sections I have are:


1-Forms: This is where I have printed “missing person report forms” and filled them out. Printouts from places like NamUs, the state missing person clearing house and Doe Network go here as well.


2-To Do List: This is just as it is titled. These are the things I plan to do, need to do, or I need to delegate. I have my name at the top of each page that is for “me” to do, and subsequently, a name at the top of each page for anyone I delegate to. I usually date when I add it to the section. Date when I work on something, and date when it is done. Leave plenty of space between things “to do” for notes.


3-Contact: These are the calls I have made with dates, times, whom I spoke to, if it is a recorded call (most all my calls ARE recorded) If I contacted them via email, Facebook or text message. I keep track of what the call was for and the outcome. And yes, If I leave a voicemail, I simply wrote “left vm” so I know I need to try again. Keeping detailed records like this has saved me a couple of times. I have been able to reference back each voicemail left, with the name mentioned in the message, the date, time and number I called.

A tip to voicemails. Talk clearly, concisely and say your name and number at least TWICE. Why? Because if you say it only once, they can mishear you and write down your number wrong. Yes, I have had that excuse given to me. Work smarter, not harder.


4-Timeline: This is the “backstory” who was what, when, where, how, and why. You want information for a few days before, the day of, and days after. Make a page for EACH person involved. You would be surprised how often you can find “catches” in a “story” just by reviewing this and doing so often.


5-People: This is all the people that the missing person has been around, and frequently. Does not matter if you suspect they may be involved in disappearance. Having that information handy is always helpful. Each person will have their own page. Everything you find about that person, goes in there. I usually use flag style sticky notes with the persons initials so I can easily identify where each section is.


6-Notes: This is where your random notes go. You have everything together. And when you can sit down and organize said notes, you know RIGHT where to find them. I try to sit down at least once a week and put all my notes “away” in the correct section.


7-Paper: I just keep a section of notebook paper, so it is always readily available.

All of this might feel super daunting. Especially if you have been working on this information for a while. But trust me, once you get it done, you will be so glad you did.

I hope this helps you get a groove into keeping files together. We would love to hear how you keep yours all organized. Heck, I am ALWAYS looking for ways to organize.


Thanks for your time. We look forward to hearing from you,


The team from

Help Bring Home The Missing

13 views

Recent Posts

See All

Message from the admin

As many others across the nation and around the world have experienced interruptions in their lives due to the spread of COVID-19, so have we here at HBHTM. We have full time jobs that pays for our bi

bottom of page